Friday, September 27, 2013

Just got off the phone with my mom. She called to tell me my grandma is in the hospital, doctors really don't know whats going on but things don't look great. Two weekends ago my family and I went down, from VA to NC, its about a five hour drive, just for a quick visit. It was my moms birthday so we surprised her. I just seen my grandma for maybe 30 minutes while we were there. Sad now thinking we were all in such a hurry to rush out to do our own things. Here we are were having fun and laughing together when my grandma hasn't been herself since having knee surgery last month. Why in the hell didn't we hang out more with her, just be there and talk to her, share some our fond memories, just be there? That's a good question now that I'm five hours away without the chance of going down there this weekend. I hate being here waiting when I could be there with my family waiting, at least I wouldn't be waiting for the phone to ring, wondering the hell is going on. Now, I'm sitting here with all these thoughts rushing my mind, horrible thoughts if truth be told, thoughts I wouldn't dare say out loud at this point. BUT really who does know when the end is near? I certainly do not. I wish I did, I would call more often, send more letters and cards and pictures of my kids. I'd try to visit more because hey I am only five hours away, that's two tanks of gas (one there and one back). Why haven't we went more? My grandma has been through so much, she needs to get better, hurry up and get back to herself. My grandma has four children (one resting in heaven), nine grandkids and six greatgrandkids. I remember her being there for me throughout my life, helping me, listening, and just being there. She was there holding me the first day I was born, she stood by my side the day I graduated kindergarten and high school, she was the one buying my cake for my 16th birthday, when I thought everyone had forgotten. She was there to take pictures and give compliments when I went to my junior prom. It was at her house I celebrated marrying the man of my dreams, she held my children when they were born, she cried when I moved away the first and second time. The three years we were stationed back in NC, we had Sunday family day, she'd make banana pudding, and let me tell you NO ONE makes it like grandma does. She will be the first one to buy a present, the first one to brag about her grandkids and greatgrandkids, the first one to offer her shirt off her back and she's the last one to get anything in return. She has battled and survived breast cancer, all the while never once stopping to take pity upon herself. She has witnessed the changing of the world through the changing seasons. She has never stopped, never slowed down and never missed a beat. Her best piece of advice, "Hold your head up high, even if you ass drags the ground." She is not just my grandma but shes a super woman!!! While I do want to go see her, at the same time I don't want to see her in a fragile state simply because that's not who MY grandma is. Here is to my grandma getting well soon, keep fighting and get better soon. I love you more than words could describe!

PS- here I am a couple of hours later, still thinking of my grandma, listening to Reba and this song just made me want to be there next to my grandma like she was always there for me :)
http://youtu.be/8Q9S3cT18Fs

Friday, September 13, 2013

Friday 13th free for all to laugh or not to laugh

Its one of those days that I am proud to have access to this blog. Some think its a day for bad luck, for black cats and broken mirrors. BUT for me I just think that its days like this that I need to blog about or I am going to explode. And have you noticed a lot people on Facebook don't want to hear about other people's rants? Well, hello isn't that what Facebook is all about, updating statics, adding new pictures, trying to keep up with friends or get back in touch with some, and yes to rant! Anyways, today was supposed to be done by "the list." That's when I have everything written down that I MUST do in one day. I have from 9-3 to do it. BUT here in northern Virginia traffic counts for half of that allotted time. So, I did the first couple of things BAM done. That was easy and fast. Then, oh then it gets fun, or annoying if I were someone else, I get lost trying to find this great awesome kids consignment sale. It was posted on Facebook by a friend and I was like sure why not try it out. I do even shopping, no not a shopaholic  but enough that I can tell if something is a reasonable sale, if its really on sale or if someone is just plain damn crazy. Because our GPS got stolen some time back, I asked my husband for directions. Hmmm yes there is the first clue. When in the hell does a woman ask a man for directions? I followed his directions or so I thought, until I called him and told him where I was and hmmm yep I was way out there in the wrong direction. I was going along with my business while my two-year-old slept. I didn't mind really because it is a beautiful country setting, some cows and barns, wide open spaces. And I found two wineries that I didn't know where around! Yes, that is always a bonus. Finally, after two hours setting out, I parked my truck in the consignment sales parking lot. OMG are you effin kidding me??? My friend who lives 25 miles north of me, was pulling in while I was getting my son out! And she had two kids two pack for, get ready and load up. I couldn't believe it. No I'm not a blonde, I even drove myself and my sons cross the country from OKC to Cali and then OKC to North Carolina in 2006 without a GPS. But I couldn't make it down my OWN road today. Thank you Friday the 13th. THEN, yep keep reading. Then, my school stuff was messed up again. They send me an email about a problem but fix the problem themselves. Sooooooo I worry, stay on the phone 20 minutes to fix a problem that has been fixed WTF no way. Yep thats my luck huh? Oh and by the way, the consignment sale wasn't all that. The pictures that were posted were probably from some other time, place and location because this one kinda sucked. My two-year-old is a master bargain shopper though, thank you Aunt Jacinda!!! He bought 10 little firetrucks, buses  EMS trucks, and sure all for four bucks!!!!!! Beat that Cinda haha :) All in all it was a pretty good day! Now I gotta go wash some clothes because my family realized we stayed out and about all day, again today lol!!! 

Wednesday, September 4, 2013

School started yesterday around  my neck of the woods. And off went my two oldest sons. One is in middle school, the other in elementary school, and still at home bouncing off the walls is my ever so energy filled 2 1/2 year old. I was patiently (or impatiently on some days) waiting for the school year to begin. Having three boys at home is like living in a frat house, no one picks up after themselves, they're always wanting to be eating and being outside is more like a mission rather than for fun. BUT yesterday when I drove them to school (hey I've drove them to every first day of school) it hit me that they are growing up. My oldest son is attending his fifth school of his school career, and this school is by far the largest of them all. My middle son is on his third school and is only in the 3rd grade. Most of this moving and new school stuff is due to the fact that we are a military family. I just feel bad sometimes, I don't want my boys to be too far away from me. In today's society, even school isn't a stay place. I wonder if one day home schooling will be the only option  Yesterday morning I wasn't allowed to walk neither of my sons to their classrooms, which I guess is okay because they are older. But it did suck a little turning away and just walking out of the schools, leaving my babies in the hands of people I don't know, surrounded by other kids that they don't know. My middle son will be okay, he's tough and don't take shit from anyone. However, my oldest son is reserved, he's quiet and doesn't speak up. Wonder if the bus rides suck too?? Yesterday afternoon, the elementary buses were an hour late! Yes one whole hour. Why? That's what I wanted to know, so I called the school to find out where my kid was. Turns out some transportation information got mixed up, so they school was rechecking every students transportation information  hmmm yeah that's only about 900 kids they spent an hour rechecking. All the while, most of these poor elementary kids were sitting on hot as hell buses waiting, wondering what was going on and in a hurry to get home. After both of my boys got home, we went to Sonic to celebrate the first day of school. We did all their paperwork (gotta love the first day of the new school year), got everything ready for the next day, watched some tv, played some computer games, and relaxed as a family until bedtime (which came early for the whole house). This morning, day two of school, first morning on the buses for both boys, went smoothly enough, no tears or arguing  Hugs and kisses were passed out and off to school they went. Now the littlest guy is learning to glue stuff (with mommy's supervision) and watching his shows. Breakfast is done, snack time over, lunch on the mind already, music playing, fresh air blowing through the opened windows, all quiet on the home front, and a much needed peaceful morning.